Nail Manicure on Males in K-pop World

Let’s take a moment to talk about the nail art trend for males that is going on in K-pop world. First of all, this is not a new “phenomena”, very commonly seen on J-rockers and rockers in general. Though, usually only black nail polish to match their heavy and smokey eye make-up and rock ‘n’ roll concept. In K-pop world we’ve seen it on Hongki for quite a while. I guess F.T Island is considered a rock band (rock-pop-ish, more pop if you ask me). HongKi has upgraded the black nail polish to another level, and he sure  loves showing off his perfectly made and designed nails to the public eyes.

During  “You & I” interview, Hongki explained a little about his nail art obsession.

The show’s MC Hyori first asked, “It looks like you’ve gotten nail art work done. I’ve heard that nail art is your hobby, but is that true?”

Hongki responded, “At first, I was a little hesitant and asked myself, ‘what guy would get manicure work done.’ But my friends told me that I would look good with nail art, so that’s how it all started.”

“It was really awkward in the beginning. But rock bands usually get a lot of nail art work done for their visual appeal. It made me think it could become my own unique characteristic,” he continued.

Check out some of the designs here:

Holiday Nails with Heechul
20121217_hongki_nailart20121217_hongkiheecuhl_nailart

FTIsland_HongKi_nailart

hongki_nailarthongki_nailart2

Super Junior Heechul with Sulli from F(x) showing of their freshly done nails:
Heechul-nailart

On the list of males with nail art we also have our fabulous combo, GD&TOP with Silver nails, looks like stickers (still manage to look manly as hell these two):
Gdragon-nailart

TOP_Nailart
TOP_Nailart2

Infinite Woohyun, I think he is just getting a manicure and not nail arts done:
NamWooHyun_nailart

Kwanghee and Sunhwa from We Got Married did couple statement nail on each other.

kwanghee-and-sunhwa-paint-matching-nail-art-on-we-got-married_ehaen_0

One of Fuji TV News’ male employees, hahaha this is mad ugly.

nail-art-fail

So what do you guys say about nail arts on men? Yay or Nay?

Source: (Soompi)(Japanprobe)

